Draycot Foliat, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Draycot Foliat, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Draycot Foliat, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Draycot Foliat, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingsbridge
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Highworth and Swindon
Registration District Highworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see Chisledon
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

DRAYCOT-FOLIATT, a parish, in the union of Highworth and Swindon, hundred of Kingsbridge, Swindon and N. divisions of Wilts, 4½ miles (S. S. E.) from Swindon. [Also] a chapelry, in the parish of Wilcot, union of Pewsey, hundred of Swanborough, Everley and Pewsey, and N. divisions of Wilts, 2¼ miles (N.) from Pewsey. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Draycot Foliat, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Draycot Foliat, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-91. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 11:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,621 times.