Drayton Bassett, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Drayton Bassett, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Drayton Bassett, Warwickshire
Drayton Bassett St Peter Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamworth
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DRAYTON-BASSETT (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 2¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Tamworth. The parish is bounded on the east by the river Tame. The church is a modern edifice, with an ancient tower.[1]

Additional information:

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Drayton Bassett like this:

The living is a rectory in the diocese of Lichfield. Value, £257.* Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church is a plain but very good stone structure, repaired in 1850: has a tower; and contains a neat marble tablet, 19½ feet high, to the memory of the late Sir Robert Peel.

For more information and records see Drayton Bassett, Staffordshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district may have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district or Cannock Registration Offices and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Drayton Bassett parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
DRAYTON BASSETT PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1559-1837

Drayton Bassett St Peter deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1559-1943 Mar 1559-1998 Bur 1559-1889
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1889 Mar 1664-1881 Bur 1664-1881 Missing bap/bur 1854-1855, 1878 Marr missing 1836-1875, 1878  


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 88-91. Adapted. Accessed November 14, 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,101 times.