Drenthe GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Drenthe)

Europe Gotoarrow.png The Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Drenthe Genealogy


Guide to Drenthe, The Netherlands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


News
  • (Your Bullets here)

more...

Events
  • (Your Bullets here)


Topics


For Geographical and Historical information see: Drenthe

The capital city of Drenthe is Assen. See: Assen

Drenthe.jpg
Locatie Provincie Drenthe.png

Contents

Jurisdictions

Assen-Kloosterkerk.jpg

Within the jurisdictions of Drenthe you will find municipalities (gemeenten) with their villages and hamlets that belong to those municipalities. They are divided in two as the boundaries of these municipalities were changed in 1998. You will find them below.

Municipalities before 1998

Municipalities after 1998

Research Tools

The best website I have been able to find for this province, which includes civil as well as church records, is: drenlias

The following website for this province covers information provided by the Nederlandse Genealogische Vereniging  (Netherlands Genealogical Society). On the left hand side of their home page under the heading: Uitwisseling (Exchange) you can find a very handy item: Links Drenthe. This item gives you numerous links to various websites for this province pertaining to genealogy. )

Emigration

Although Drenthe was the least populated province, it ranked fourth when comparing number of emigrants. In the nineteenth century, many people in Drenthe worked in the agricultural sector which means this province was struck particularly hard when the crops failed. Also, many people in Drenthe joined the Secession and were among the first to emigrate.

The Drents Archief has published lists of emigrants in an emigrant section of Drenlias. Select ‘English’ in the top right corner for the English version.

Most Drenthe emigrants settled in Holland and Grand Rapids in Michigan, and Orange City and Pella in Iowa.

Help Wanted

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:


Did you know?

Hunnebed bij Taarlo.jpg
To find out more about these interesting dolmens see: hunnebedden

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2015, at 03:17.
  • This page has been accessed 3,212 times.