Dry Doddington, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dry Doddington, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Dry Doddington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dry Doddington, Lincolnshire
Dry Doddington St James Lincolnshire.jpg
Dry Doddington St James Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Westborough
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DODDINGTON, DRY (St. James), formerly a parish, now a township in the parish of Westborough, in the union of Newark, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (N. N. W.) from Grantham.[1]

It was formed originally as a chapelry of Westborough, Lincolnshire. It was restored in 1876 and has a leaning spire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Lincolnshire
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Lincoln
LN2 5WG
Phone: 01522 782244

Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.


Records found in FamilySearch Catalogue Doddington, Dry

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/DryDoddington/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 63-69. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 03:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,836 times.