Dubuque County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dubuque County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Dubuque County

Guide to Dubuque County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records



Dubuque County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Dubuque County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 1, 1834
County Seat Dubuque
Courthouse
Address Dubuque County Courthouse
720 Central Avenue
Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone:(319) 589-4418
Dubuque County Website

Contents

County Information

Dubuque County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1835 1880 1840 1834 1835

County Courthouse

Dubuque County Courthouse
720 Central Avenue
Dubuque, IA 52001

(319) 589-4418


Dubuque County

History

Parent County

1834--Dubuque County was created 1 October 1834 from Michigan Territory. County seat:  Dubuque [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clayton • Delaware • Jackson • Jones • Jo Daviess County, Illinois • Grant County, Wisconsin

Dubuque CountyJackson CountyClinton CountyJones CountyLinn CountyDelaware CountyClayton CountyCedar CountyBuchanan CountyFayette CountyWinneshiek CountyAllamakee CountyGrant CountyIowa CountyLafayette CountyCrawford CountyJo Daviess CountyStephenson CountyCarroll CountyWhiteside CountyIADubuque.JPG

Resources

=Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Iowa recorded not only the federal census but state census through out the years too. The state census contains very valuable genealogical information. Where the census information can be found, what years it was taken, mortality schedules, census substitutions and much more is discussed in the very informative Iowa Census article.

  • 1836 State Transcription and Index
  • 1840
  • 1841 State Transcription and Index
  • 1842 State Transcription and Index
  • 1844 State Transcription and Index
  • 1846 State Transcription and Index
  • 1847 State Transcription and Index
  • 1849 State Transcription and Index
  • 1850
  • 1854 State Originals
  • 1856 State Originals
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1885 State Originals
  • 1890
  • 1895 State Originals
  • 1900
  • 1905 State Originals and Index
  • 1910
  • 1915 State Originals
  • 1920
  • 1925 State Originals
  • 1930

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Dubuque, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Dubuque

  • Records of the St. Peter's Lutheran Church, Dubuque, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Directories

  • Seventh edition of the Dubuque and Dubuque County directory, 1909 : containing an alphabetically arranged list of business firm Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Land

The indexes and deeds are now online -   http://cotthosting.com/iadubuque/LandRecords/protected/SrchQuickName.aspx  There is a tab for the index books back to 1834.  Once the book and page are found, use the Record Book using the boxes on the right part of the page.  Be sure to try all types of the record books as the early deeds aren't in obvious places all the time.   

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


  • Dubuque County Early Settlers' Association. Brief early history of Iowa and Dubuque County. Dubuque, Iowa : Times-Journal, [1910?].
  • Dubuque County Early Settlers' Association. [Dubuque County Early Settlers' Association]. Dubuque, Iowa : Iowa Farmer, [1906].
  • The History of Dubuque County, Iowa : containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, &c., biographical sketches of citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion, general and local statistics, portraits of early settlers and prominent men, history of the northwest, history of Iowa, map of Dubuque County, constitution of the United States, miscellaneous matters,. Chicago, Western Historical, 1880.
  • Oldt, Franklin T. History of Dubuque County, Iowa : being a general survey of Dubuque County history, including a history of the city of Dubuque and special account of districts throughout the county, from the earliest settlement to the present time. Chicago, Illinois : Goodspeed Historical Association, [1911?]
  • Portrait and biographical record of Dubuque, Jones and Clayton Counties, Iowa : containing biographical sketches of prominent a at Ancestry.com ($)
  • Dubuque County history, Iowa at Ancestry.com ($)
  • History of the Trappist abbey of New Melleray, in Dubuque County, Iowa at Ancestry.com ($)
  • Antique Dubuque, 1673-1833. By Hoffmann, M. M.. Dubuque: Telegraph-Herald Press, 1930. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies H and I
- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Companies B and M
- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies G and H
- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies C, E, F and I
- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company F
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 16th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company G
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company H
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company I
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
:- 20th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
:- 44th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company A
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company B
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company M
:- 9th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C

Naturalization

Index to Naturalization Petitions for Illinois, Indiana, Iowa & Wisconsin

Naturalization and citizenship (microfilmed originals or published transcripts) are listed in the FamilySearch Library Catalog for Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see  Some of the microfilms may be available at the state archives or at state and county historical societies.

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

  • Weekly Times. 1859-1862, 1868 Dubuque, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Dyersville Commerrial. 1853, 1859 Dyersville, IA, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)
  • Du Buque Visitor. 1836, 1837 Du Buque, WI, USA. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Dubuque - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "dubuque county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "dubuque county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "dubuque county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Project Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Dubuque County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Dubuque County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Dubuque County Message Board

Sources and Footnotes

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
{{Iowa|Iowa}

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2015, at 15:23.
  • This page has been accessed 11,281 times.