Dullingham, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dullingham, Cambridgeshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Dullingham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dullingham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Radfield
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket PLU
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DULLINGHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Radfield, county of Cambridge, 3¾ miles (S. by W.) from Newmarket. The parish is near the road from London to Newmarket, and the works of the Newmarket and Chesterford railway were commenced here, in October, 1846. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers for Dullingham, 1558-1869 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Dullingham, 1599-1849 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241224.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Dullingham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-102. Adapted. Accessed 20 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 01:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,349 times.