Dunkeld, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dunkeld, Perthshire, Scotland)

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Dunkeld

Parish #349

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Dunkeld. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

DUNKELD and DOWALLY, a parish, in the county of Perth, 15 miles (N. by W.) from Perth, and 55 (N. N. W.) from Edinburgh; comprising the ancient city of Dunkeld, partly within the parish of Caputh; for many years the seat of the primacy of the kingdom prior to its removal to St. Andrew's, and now the seat of a presbytery. This place, which is of very remote origin, and is supposed to have been the capital of the ancient Caledonia, appears to have derived its name from the erection of a castle or stronghold. The town is beautifully situated on the north bank of the river Tay. The parish of Dowally and the ancient city of Dunkeld both formed originally part of the extensive parish of Caputh, from which they were separated in 1500. The church of Dowally was erected in 1820, on the site of the old church founded by Bishop Brown; it is a neat structure containing 210 sittings. There are places of worship for members of the Free Church, Independents, and Glassites.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Dunkeld, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042692
none
1851
1042263
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 337
1861
0103892
none
1871
0104073
none
1881
0203505
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208734
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1672-1854 1040066 item 3-4
Marriages: 1707-1837 1040066 item 3-4

1836-1861 1040067 item 1
Deaths: 1806-1807 -  burials 1040066 item 3-4

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: There are no birth entries for January 1674–December 1676, two for September 1691–December 1696, none for November 1714–February 1719, and only four for September 1731–September 1733. Mothers' names are sometimes recorded from 1749 but not with regularity until 1808.
Marriages: There are no marriage entries, except two for 1718, between March 1713 and October 1744. There are only two entries for April 1752–January 1757.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Heads of Families 1836–1842
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/107.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Dunkeld Free Church

History—
The minister of the parish and one elder "came out" in 1843. The church was built in 1843. The membership declined.
Membership: 1848, 271; 1900, 208.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D. 2 vols, pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Minutes 1843–1930
Deacons’ Court Minutes 1844–1868, 1874–1876
Communion Rolls 1843–1931
Cash Book 1843–1898
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/683.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Dunkeld was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunkeld until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Pertshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 320-349. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,370 times.