Dunsden, OxfordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Dunsden, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Henley PLU|
|Parish records: 1876; For records see Sonning|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1876|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Pre-1847 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury; Post-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
EYE, with Dunsden, a liberty, in the parish of Sonning, union of Henley, hundred of Binfield, county of Oxford, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Henley. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474572.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:36.
- This page has been accessed 374 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback