Dunton Waylett, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dunton, Waylett)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Dunton Waylett, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dunton Waylett, Essex
Former Dunton St Mary the Virgin Essex.jpg
Former Dunton St Mary the Virgin Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barstable
County Essex
Poor Law Union Billericay PLU
Registration District Billericay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Billericay
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DUNTON-WAYLETT (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Billericay, the hundred of Barstable, and S. division of Essex, it is 6 miles (S. E.) from Brentwood; containing.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dunton Waylett, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Dunton Waylett, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1538-1976 1538-1957 1538-1974

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office catalogued as St Mary the Virgin Dunton. The registers end in the 1970's when the church was declared redundant.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.


Poor Law Unions

Billericay Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Dunton Waylet on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 5 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 14:51.
  • This page has been accessed 3,329 times.