Durnford, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Durnford, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Durnford, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Durnford, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Amesbury PLU
Registration District Amesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Durnford
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DURNFORD (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Amesbury, though locally in the hundred of Underditch, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 2¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Amesbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Durnford, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Durnford, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1574-1864 1574-1837
NIM
1574-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,598 times.