Durrington, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Wiltshire Gotoarrow.png  Wiltshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

DURRINGTON, a parish, in the union and hundred of Amesbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wilts, 2 miles (N.) from Amesbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Durrington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
DURRINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1591-1812

JOIN
1591-1812

NIM
1591-1837

TGEN
1591-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Reference

 
  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.
  2. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 03:58.
  • This page has been accessed 510 times.