Duxford St John, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Duxford St John, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Duxford consisted historically of two parishes:

Duxford St John, Cambridgeshire
Duxford St John Cambridgeshire.jpg
Duxford St John Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whittlesford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Linton PLU
Registration District Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DUXFORD, comprising the parishes of St. Peter and St. John, in the union of Linton, hundred of Whittlesford, county of Cambridge, 9 miles (S. by E.) from Cambridge. The two churches are supposed to have been built about the end of the thirteenth century.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers for St. John's Church, Duxford, 1684-1883 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for St. John's Church, Duxford, 1599-1857 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241222.


Poor Law Unions

Linton Poor Law Union, Cambridgeshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Duxford St John on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 01:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,504 times.