Earl Shilton, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Earl Shilton, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Earl Shilton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Earl Shilton, Leicestershire
St Simon & St Jude Earl Shilton Leicestershire.jpg
St Simon & St Jude Earl, Shilton Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Hinckley PLU
Registration District Hinckley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1552; For more records see Kirkby Mallory
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EARL-SHILTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Kirby-Mallory [which also see], union of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 3¾ miles (N. E.) from Hinckley. The chapel is dedicated to St. Peter. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Earl Shilton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Earl Shilton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1552-1910
1552-1910
1552-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Earl Shilton Bap 1552 - 1959 Marr 1552 - 1990 (Banns to1994) Bur 1552 – 1919
In addition the Office has records of Non Conformist congretations:

Earl Shilton
Independent Births and Baptisms 1810-1838 reference MF 13(8) or R47
Earl Shilton
Methodist (Wood St.) Marr 1951-1963 reference N/M/142/140-141

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.


Poor Law Unions

Hinckley Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 121-124. Date accessed: 11 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 20:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,308 times.