Earl Soham, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Earl Soham, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earl Soham, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loes
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Plomesgate PLU
Registration District Plomesgate
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loes
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Soham, Earl (St. Andrew), is a parish in the union of Plomesgate, the hundred of Loes, and E division of Suffolk, it is 12 miles N. W. from Woodbridge. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Earl Soham and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Earl Soham was in Plomesgate district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Earl Soham, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
Earl Soham, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1558-1812

NBI

1558-1901

The Parish Registers begin in 1558.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Loes Deanery, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Earl Soham.   See Suffolk Church Records for further details.
 

Census records

There are census records available for Earl Soham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Earl Soham, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Earl Soham (Catalogued Soham Earl) was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 129-133. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 May 2014, at 22:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,375 times.