Earl Sterndale, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Earl Sterndale, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Earl Sterndale, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earl Sterndale, Derbyshire
Earl Sterndale St Michael Derbyshire.jpg
Earl Sterndale St Michael Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1765
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buxton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Hartington
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STERNDALE, EARL, a chapelry, in the parish of Hartington, union of Bakewell, hundred of Wirksworth, N. division of the county of Derby, 5½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Buxton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Earl Sterndale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Earl Sterndale Parish St Michael and All Angels (1763) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Earl Sterndale St Michael and All Angels Derbyshire Record Office reference D2382  has deposited registers Bap 1765-1882 Mar 1765-1963 Burial 1765-1923

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1800-1856 Mar 1800-1836 Burials 1800-1856.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Earl Sterndale on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 18:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,918 times.