Earldoms, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Earldoms, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Earldoms, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earldoms, Wiltshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Frustfield
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Alderbury PLU
Registration District Alderbury
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EARLDOMS, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Alderbury, hundred of Frustfield, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of the county of Wilts. [1]

Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464196.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 121-124. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.

Contributor: Add any additional  sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 12:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,799 times.