Earley, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Earley

Guide to Earley, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earley, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Charlton
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wokingham PLU
Registration District Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1854
Bishop's Transcripts: 1854
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Earley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1843 from Sonning Ancient Parish.

Here is an important 19th century historical and jurisdictional perspective by John M. Wilson, from the Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales:

SONNING, a village and a hundred in Berks, and a parish (which see) in Berks and Oxford. The village stands on the Thames, 2 miles W by N of Twyford, and 3 ENE of Reading. The parish comprises the liberties of Sonning-Town, Earley, and Woodley  and Sandford St John's (which also see; built in 1873), in Wokingham district, Berks, and the liberty of Eye and Dunsden in Henley district, Oxford. A chapel of ease was erected in Eye andDunsden (All Saints, by 1842). In addition to this extensive parish, the perpetual curacies (chapels) of Earley St Bartholomew and St Luke are also separate chapelries, were built within the parish boundary, created in 1879 and 1878, respectively, which also see. The Reading cemetery also is in the parish.[1][2][3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Earley, Berkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[4]
Earley, Berkshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241203.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Earley a liberty in the parish of Sonning in GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted. Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.
  2. Wikipedia St John the Evangelist Woodley. Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.
  3. WikipediaAllSaintsDunsden. Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.
  4. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,628 times.