Earsham, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Earsham, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Earsham, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Earsham
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Redenhall
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EARSHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Depwade, hundred of Earsham, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (S. W. by W.) from Bungay. It is bounded on the south by the river Waveney, which separates it from the county of Suffolk. [1]

Earsham is an Ancient Parish partly in the county of Suffolk and Norfolk. Additional places in this parish include Stow Fen.

= Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Earsham is in the Depwade Registration District . To search an index of Depwade district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Parish Registers begin in 1559.

Bishop Transcripts begin in 1691.

Census records

Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for general details about the census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-127. Adapted. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.

Sources


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 572 times.