East Angmering with Angmering, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

East Angmering with Angmering, Sussex
St Margaret Angmering West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Poling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union East Preston PLU
Registration District Worthing
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arundel
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ANGMERING, EAST and WEST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Preston (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Poling, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Arundel.[1]

Angmering St Margaret  is an Ancient Parish Other places in the parish include: Angmering, Ham and Bargham, Ham, and Bargham. Angmering is within the Arun district of West Sussex.

The church of St Margaret has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Angmering Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-62. here

See also Wikipedia

The former Angmering Baptist Church is now a private residential dwelling and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building  See also Angmering Baptist Church Wikipedia for history of non-conformist churches in the West Sussex area.

See also List of places of worship in Arun which includes closed and disused churches in Angmering

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Angmering parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
ANGMERING PARISH (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1562-1687 1562-1687 1562-1687
IGI 1584-1877 1562-1876
PRTS 1688-1901
1688-1900
1678, 1688-1901
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Angmering St Margaret Ancient parish

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1563-1965 Marr 1565-1965 Bur 1566-1959

Bishop's Transcripts 1591-1868

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Angmering, East with Angmering

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

See Sussex Census


Poor Law Unions

East Preston Poor Law Union, Sussex

Sutton (East Preston) Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-62. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014. Described as 'Angmering St Margaret.'

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,067 times.