East Carlton, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Carlton, Northamptonshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to East Carlton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


East Carlton, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corby
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Kettering PLU
Registration District Kettering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weldon
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

CARLTON, EAST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Kettering, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 7 miles (E. by N.) from Market-Harborough. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Carlton, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
East Carlton, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1871 1813-1871 1816-1871 1816-1871

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438874.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 520-523. Date Accessed 10 December 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 16:39.
  • This page has been accessed 892 times.