East Chelborough, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Chelborough, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to East Chelborough, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Chelborough, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tollerford
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Beaminster
Registration District Beaminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1733
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CHELBOROUGH (East), or Luccombe, a parish in Beaminster district, Dorset; on the Roman road from Dorchester, at the verge of the county, 3½ miles WSW of Yetminster railway station, and 6½ NE of Beaminster.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online East Chelborough, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1680
1653
1680
Images
1680-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1921 Ancestry[3]
Indexes 1653-1753 findmypast[4]
1690-1812 FreeREG[5]
1690-1812 Joiner[6]
1790-1812 Ancestry[7]

East Chelborough, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
East Chelborough, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1690-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, published 1870-72. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  5. Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 03:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,117 times.