East Ham, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Ham, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to East Ham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Ham, Essex
East Ham - Church of St Mary Magdalene .jpg
East Ham - Church of St Mary Magdalene
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham PLU
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

East Ham also known as Ham, East (St. Mary Magdalene), is a parish, in the union of West Ham, the hundred of Becontree, southern division of Essex, it is 6 miles E from London. There is a Lady chapel as well as a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Ham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2] and Boyd's London Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
East Ham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1695-1803
1654-1802
ESSEX
1701-1960
1696-1957
1700-1960
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
NBI



1700-1960

St Mary Magdalene
High St South
Baptisms 1701-1960
Marriages 1696-1982
Burials 1700-1960: ERO
Baptisms 1960- date
Marriages 1982- date
Burials 1960-1975: Not deposited

Monumental Inscriptions:
EoLFHS Publications

St Andrew
Roman Rd
Beckton
Baptisms 1934-1952
Marriages 1946-1952: ERO

St Bartholomew
Barking Rd
Baptisms 1945-1952
Marriages 1903-1977: ERO
Baptisms 1952- date
Marriages 1977- date: Not deposited


St George and St Ethelbert
Burford Rd
Baptisms 1923-1955
Marriages 1924-1967: ERO
Baptisms 1955- date
Marriages 1967- date: Not deposited

St John the Baptist
High Street North
Marriages 1871-1902: ERO

St Michael and All Angels
Beckton Rd
Beckton
Baptisms 1909-1941
Marriages 1924-1941: ERO

St Paul
Burges Rd
Baptisms 1924- date
Marriages 1925- date: Not deposited

St Michael
(Roman Catholic)
Tilbury Rd
Formed 1926

Primitive Methodist Chapel
High St. South
Marriages 1913-1940: ERO

Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
Abbotts Park
Baptisms 1893-1904: ERO

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Lady chapel
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.


Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

East Ham on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, (1870) Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  4. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 April 2015, at 18:33.
  • This page has been accessed 7,190 times.