East Kennett, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Kennett, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png East Kennett

Guide to East Kennett, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Kennett, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selkey
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Marlborough
Registration District Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1655
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KENNETT, EAST, a parish, in the union of Marlborough, hundred of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of Wilts, 4 miles (W. S. W.) from Marlborough.
KENNETT, EAST and WEST, a tything, in the parish of Avebury, union of Marlborough, hundred of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of Wilts, 5 miles (W.) from Marlborough. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Kennett, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
East Kennett, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1606-1837
NIM 1606-1840
1606-1837
1606-1837


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to <a href="Wiltshire Probate Records">Wiltshire Probate Records</a> to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-659. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 3,511 times.