East Kirkby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Kirkby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to East Kirkby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


East Kirkby, Lincolnshire
East Kirkby St Nicholas Lincolnshire.jpg
East Kirkby St Nicholas Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Bolingbroke Soke
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby PLU
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolingbroke
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRKBY, EAST (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, W. division of the soke of Bolingbroke, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from Spilsby. It includes West Fen Allotments, East Kirkby-West Fen and Kirkby Fenside.  A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in the village in 1862.[1]

Near the village is the site of the former RAF East Kirkby, a World War II Royal Air Force base (code name Silksheen). One corner is now the home of Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre and is the home of 'Just Jane', an Avro Lancaster B.VII Bomber (serial NX-611) There is a memorial here.

Memorial to Number 57&630 Sqn East Kirkby Lincolnshire.jpg

The base opened on 20 August 1943 as a Bomber Command Station and is situated not far from RAF Coningsby. Stationed at East Kirkby were:

No. 57 Squadron RAF (5 Group) 27 August 1943 - 25 November 1945
No. 630 Squadron RAF (5 Group) 15 November 1943 - 18 July 1945

RAF East Kirkby served also as the headquarters of No 5 (Bomber) Group RAF in command of satellite stations at RAF Strubby, RAF Spilsby, RAF Hemswell and RAF Manby.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Stickney sub-district of Spilsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms East Kirkby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirkby, East

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438765.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/EastKirkby/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 689-692. Date accessed: 18 August 2013.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 3,014 times.