East Markham, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Markham, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to East Markham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

East Markham, Nottinghamshire
East Markham St John the Baptist Nottinghamshire.jpg
East Markham St John the Baptist Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

East Markham St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish which includes Sipthorpe Place and Markham Moor.

MARKHAM, EAST (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of East Retford, South Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (N.) from Tuxford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:

See East Markham Wikipedia.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667

Church records

East Markham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
East Markham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Markham, East

East Markham - St John the Baptist.  An alphabetical listing of the transcriptions of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church dated from 1622, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Includes War memorials for W.W.1 and 2, and the Korea War.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 69, pages 25-36, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


East Markham (Great Markham) in GENUKI:East Markham


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2015, at 00:52.
  • This page has been accessed 2,485 times.