East Norton, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Norton, Leicestershire)
England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes Guide to East Norton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
East Norton, Leicestershire
All Saints East Norton Leicestershire.jpg
All Saints East Norton, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon PLU
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690; For more records see Tugby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORTON, EAST (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Uppingham. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described East Norton like this:
NORTON (East), a village and a parochial chapelry in Billesdon district, Leicester. The village stands in Eye brook valley, 2½ miles W of the boundary with Leicester, 5½ W of Uppingham, and 6 N of Medbourne-Bridge r. station. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Norton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
East Norton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1690-1840
1690-1840
1690-1840

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: East Norton Bap 1690 - 1812 Marr 1690 - 1840 Bur 1690 - 1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 442-446. Date accessed: 06 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 20:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,532 times.