East Peckham Holy Trinity, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KentGotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to East Peckham Holy Trinity, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


East Peckham Holy Trinity, Kent
East Peckham Holy Trinity Kent.jpg
East Peckham Holy Trinity Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Twyford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PECKHAM, EAST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Twyford, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 5½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Tonbridge. A district church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity, There is also a meeting-house for Wesleyans. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

01622 694363

Fax: 01622 694379

Family History Library film numbers
Peckham, East


Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Census records

East Peckham Census Returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 24 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,049 times.