East Retford, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Retford, Nottinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to East Retford, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records

East Retford, Nottinghamshire
St Swithun's church, East retford.JPG
St Swithun's church, East retford
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union East Retford
Registration District East Retford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573; Separate register exist for East Retford St Saviour beginning 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

RETFORD, EAST (St. Swithin), a borough and market-town, and the head of a union, in the North Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 32 miles (E. N. E.) from Nottingham, and 144 (N. by W.). The parish comprises by measurement 171 acres. There are places of worship for General Baptists, Independents, Ranters, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Retford St Swithun is an Ancient parish in the market town of Retford in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.

The Parish Church of St Swithun dates from the 13th century in part and has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Retford St Saviour was formed from this parish; Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the parish created from the 1829 consecration of St Saviour as a chapel of Ease Retford St Saviour

Retford Area Team Ministry now unite the Retford parishes St Swithun website history

Retford St Saviour website

See also:East Retford Wikipedia


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 event:
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Chancery Lane
DN22 6DG
Phone:01777 708631
Fax:01777 860667

Church records

East Retford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
East Retford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undisclosed

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Retford

Retford - St. Saviour's.  Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the church. dating from 1820. An alphabetical listing giving surname, given name, sometimes year of birth, date of death, and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, pages 11-12, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

East Retford - Baptist Chapel.  Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions of the Church Yard, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 87 page 13-14, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

East Retford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


East Retford in GENUKI: East Retford


  1. Lewis, Samuel A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 20:30.
  • This page has been accessed 4,191 times.