East Stoke, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from East Stoke, Dorset)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngDorset Gotoarrow.pngDorset Parishes

Guide to East Stoke, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Stoke, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winfrith
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck PLU
Registration District Wareham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKE (East), a parish, with West Holme tything, in Wareham district, Dorset; on the river Frome, 2½ miles E of Wool railway station, and 3½ W by S of Wareham. The church was rebuilt in 1827.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online East Stoke, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1740
1740
1740
Images
1740-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1909 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1909 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1837 Joiner[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 March 2015, at 19:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,567 times.