East Tisted, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to East Tisted, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Tisted, Hampshire|
|Hundred||Pre-1834 - Selborne; Alton; Post-1833 - Selborne|
|Poor Law Union||Alton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1702|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
TISTED, EAST (St. James), a parish, in the union of Alton, hundred of Selborne, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 5 miles (S. by W.) from Alton with the tything of Rotherfield..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
East Tisted, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|EAST TISTED PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288790.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Hall, Derek and Barber, Norman. The Nortons of Southwick. The Genealogy of a Seventeenth Century Hampshire Family. Describes some of the confusion of the family history, but then describes the ancient seat of the Nortons of East Tisted, Hampshire, starting in 1568-1685 and the history of the family. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.X, no.4, February, 1984, pages 189-194, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 362-366. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
- ↑ 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- ↑ 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
- This page has been accessed 2,582 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More