Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Cherokee Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.
The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina is a federally-recognized tribal entity.
Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina
P. O. Box 455
Cherokee, NC 28719
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Siler, David W., A Census of the Cherokee Nation in North Carolina, Tennessee, Alabam and Georgia in 1851. Cottonport, LA, Polyanthos, 1972. FHL Book 970.3 C424sd
For Further Reading
- Donaldson, Thomas Carwin. Eastern Band of Cherokee of North Carolina, Washington D. C., Library of Congress FHL Film 1009060 Item 5
For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.
- This page was last modified on 7 August 2015, at 16:07.
- This page has been accessed 13,856 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News