Eastern Shawnee Tribe of OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma

Guide to Eastern Shawnee Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Eastern Shawnee flag.jpg

The Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma is a federally-recognized tribal entity.

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
P. O. Box 350
Seneca, MO 64865
Phone: 1.918.666.2435
Fax: 1.918.666.2186

Population: 1984 1,400 enrolled [1]

History

Brief Timeline

Reservations

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records

Allotted land: 708.46 acres. Tribally owned 84.48 acres. [2]

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 223
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 223

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 August 2015, at 16:18.
  • This page has been accessed 3,052 times.