Eastoft, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eastoft, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Eastoft, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eastoft, Lincolnshire
Eastoft St Bartholomew North Lincolnshire.JPG
Eastoft St Bartholomew North Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Thorne
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1855; For more records see Crowle
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manlake
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

EASTOFT, a chapelry, in the parish of Crowle, union of Thorne, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 3 miles (N. E.) from Crowle.  A Primitive Wesleyan chapel dates from 1860.[1]


Civil Registration

Thorne registration district

Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
DN15 7PA
01724 843915. registrars@northlincs.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Eastoft

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-132. Date accessed: 17 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2015, at 04:00.
  • This page has been accessed 3,121 times.