Edale, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Edale, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Edale, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Edale, Derbyshire
Edale Derbyshire.jpg
Edale Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chapel en le Frith PLU
Registration District Chapel en le Frith
Records begin
Parish registers: 1643
Bishop's Transcripts: 1782
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDALE, a chapelry, in the parish of Castleton, union of Chapel-en-le-Frith, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 5¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Chapel. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Edale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Edale Holy and Undivided Trinity (1643) Chapelry (1722) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1813-1881
  NONE
1842-1883
  NONE
1813-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Originally a township in Castleton, Derbyshire parish. The Chapel of ease was built in 1633 and licensed for Bap, Marr and burials. It became a separate parish from 1863. Refer to Castleton, Derbyshire marriage registers 1752-1812

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3960 has deposited registers Bap 1643-1653, 1678-1872 Mar 1686, 1710-1719,1723, 1737-1738, 1741, 1744, 1751-1752 Burials 1674-1927

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1776-1861 Mar 1776-1860 Burials 1776-1861 Missing for all events 1847, 1856-1857

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.


Poor Law Unions

Chapel en le Frith Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Edale on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-144. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 18:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,177 times.