Edensor, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Edensor, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Edensor, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Edensor, Derbyshire
Edensor St Peter Derbyshire.jpg
Edensor St Peter Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eyam
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EDENSOR (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 2¼ miles (E. N. E.) from Bakewell. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Edensor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Edensor St Peter (1539) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1726-1882
  NONE
1573-1882
  NONE
1726-1882
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Edensor St Peter reference D 1192 includes the townships of Pilsley and Chatsworth (from 19th century)

has deposited registers Bap 1539-1949 Mar 1530-1981 Burial 1539-1959 Banns 1754-1813, 1824-1830, 1854,1857, 1908-1992

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap1662-1865 Mar 1662-1837 Burials 1662-1865 Missing 1832-1834, 1845-1847, 1849-1863 all events

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 2412898.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Edensor on GENUKI 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 139-144. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2015, at 18:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,898 times.