Edgbaston St James, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Edgbaston St James, Warwickshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birmingham
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Kings Norton PLU
Registration District Kings Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield (Cathedral)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Edgbaston (St James), is the third of three parishes in Edgbaston, it is also a suburb, and a sub-district, in the district of Kings Norton, Warwickshire. The suburb adjoins Birmingham and forms the west end of that town; it lies on the Birmingham canal, adjacent to the Stour Valley railway; there are two post offices, Bristol-Road and Hagley-Road, under Birmingham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464186.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Accessed November 19, 2013.
  2. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 21:53.
  • This page has been accessed 388 times.