Edlingham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Edlingham church Northumberland.JPG

Contents

Parish History

EDLINGHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Alnwick, N. division of Coquetdale ward and of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Abbewick, Broom-Park, Edlingham, Learchild, and Lemmington, and the chapelry of Bolton; The church is an ancient structure, with some Norman details still remaining, though it has undergone various alterations. At Bolton is a chapel of ease. St John The Baptist Edlingham is an Ancient Parish and includes: Abberwick, Abbewick, Battle Bridge, Bolton, Broom Park, Broome Park, Learchild, Lemmington, Lemmington with Battle Bridge and Lemmington Mills.[1]

Additional information:

Bolton Chapel: A chapel of ease in the Parish of Edlingham. Although there has been considerable nineteenth century restoration, the foundation is ancient, and some Norman work survives. The chapel is mentioned in 1230, and was probably in the care of the Brethren of a Leper Hospital which was founded to the north of Bolton in 1227 under the terms of a licence granted by Prior of Durham who held the advowson until the Dissolution. [The Newcastle Diocesan Gazetteer (1982), page 93.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Parish Records

Church Records

Edlingham, Northumberland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
EDLINGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT//2/91 Date: March 1760-1837 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Edlingham, St John the Baptist: Records of baptisms 1658-1916, burials 1658-1991 and burials 1658-1992 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1658-1812 and marriages 1658-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1658-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1658-1812 are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Edlingham (microfiche TN83) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438890.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 March 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 679 times.