Egglescliffe, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Egglescliffe, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Egglescliffe, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Egglescliffe, Durham
Egglescliffe St John the Baptist Co Durham.jpg
Egglescliffe St John the Baptist Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1763
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

EAGLESCLIFFE or Egglescliffe (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Stockton, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham; The parish comprises the townships of Eaglescliffe, Aislaby, and Newsham. [1]

Additional information: St John The Baptist Egglescliffe is an ancient parish and includes Egglescliffe, Urlay Nook and Aislaby.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1539-1989 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Eg).

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/94 Date: 1763-1844
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The images for this parish have not yet been loaded and await engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Egglescliffe on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 01:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,654 times.