Eglwys Newydd, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eglwys-Newydd, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngEglwys Newydd

A guide to genealogy in Eglwys Newydd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Eglwys Newydd is a chapelry in the ecclesiastical parish of Llanfihangel y Creuddyn in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

In 1833: "EGLWYS - NEWYDD, or LLANVIHANGELY CREIDDYN-UCHÂV, a chapelry in the parish of LLANVIHANGELY CREIDDYN, hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES,14 miles (S. E.) from Aberystwith, containing 1027 inhabitants. This place derives the latter of these names from its relative situation in the parish, and the former from the erection of a church, in 1803, by the late Thomas Johnes, Esq., on the site of a former edifice originally built here in 1620 by the Herberts of Havôd, for the convenience of the family, and the accommodation of the miners employed in the adjoining district of Cwm Ystwith. Havôd the seat of the late Mr. Johnes, was originally the residence of a branch of the Herbert family, who, embarking in the mining adventures of the neighbourhood, built a house here, which, from the nature of the ground and the badness of the roads, being inaccessible except during the summer, obtained the appellation of "Havôd" signifying a summer residence ..." [1]

For more information see Eglwys Newydd at Genuki.

References

  1. Samuel Lewis' A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 576 times.