Eglwys Fair a Churig, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngEglwys Fair a Churig

A guide to genealogy in Eglwys Fair a Churig, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Eglwys Fair a Churig is a chapelry in the ecclesiastical parish in Henllan Amgoed in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

History

In 1844: "'EGLWYS VAIR Y CHYRIG (EGLWYS FAIR A CHURIG), a chapelry, in the parish of HENLLAN-AMGOED, union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 11 miles (N.W. by N.) from St. Clear's; containing 288 inhabitants. It is situated in the upper part of the vale of the river Tâf, and on the border of Pembrokeshire, which bounds it to the north. The greater part is inclosed and well cultivated, and there are a few respectable residences. The chapel, which is dedicated to St. David, is a chapel of ease to the rectory of Hênllan-Amgoed." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844)]

For more information see Eglwys Fair a Churig at Genuki.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 June 2013, at 10:42.
  • This page has been accessed 316 times.