Eglwys Gymyn, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eglwys Gymyn, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngEglwys Gymyn

A guide to genealogy in Eglwys Gymyn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Eglwys Gymyn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is on the border of Pembrokeshire. The community also contains the villages of Marros and Rhos-goch.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

EGLWYS-CUMMIN (EGLWYS-CYMMYN), a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERRLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (S.W.) from St. Clear's, near the road to Haverfordwest. The parish is of great extent, and is situated at the south-western extremity of the county, on the borders of Pembrokeshire. A considerable portion of it is at present uncultivated. The church is dedicated to St. Margaret. A National school was established in 1832. There are some vestiges of an ancient military earthwork in a field, which, from that circumstance, has obtained the appelation of "Castell Park". There is a place of worship for Independents, with a Sunday school held in it.[1]

For more information on Eglwys Gymyn see Eglwys Gymyn at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2016, at 04:07.
  • This page has been accessed 929 times.