Egremont, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngEgremont

A guide to genealogy in Egremont, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with a similar name see Egremont

Egremont is a village and former ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is on the border of Pembrokeshire.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

EGERMONT, otherwise EGREMONT, a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5 mile (N. by W.) from Narberth. This parish, which borders on the county of Pembroke, and is pleasantly situated on the eastern branch of the river Cleddau, is about two miles and a half in length, and, in the widest part, about two miles in breadth; the surrounding scenery, though pleasantly varied, is not distinguished by any particularity of feature. Stone of very good quality for building is found, and some quarries are worked. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, was rebuilt in 1839, in a plain, but neat style. There are some vestiges of an ancient encampment on an elevation above the church; and a stone, with an inscription in very rude characters, WANTACUS, witth a cross heading; it was found in the churchyard, and is now in the western pew-end of the church. The word MANTACUS above, and the Latin word "Agger", a head of stones or earth, appicable to the ancient encampment, may account for the etymology of "Egger-mount".[1]

For more information on Egremont see Egremont at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 January 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 309 times.