Eiken (Egen), Vest-Agder, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Eiken, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Church RecordsHægebostad (Øvre Kvinesdal) prestegjeld.
- 1664-1666: Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1663-1666: Manntall 1663-66 for Lister prosti II Database at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 35) for Hægebostad clerical district includes Hægebostad, Eiken, and Fjotland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1034 Heggebostad Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1034 Helgebostad Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1034 Hægebostad Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910 Database at Digitalarkivet.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
100 Aavesland 63 Blaake ytre 81 Bryggesaak ytre 57 Eftefjeld 97 Eikaasen 78 Eiken nedre 59 Eiknes 105 Espeskaret 106 Farhommen 80 Gardøl 64 Gletne med Gletnelien 61 Grostøl med Sagen 89 Haaberg 99 Haddeland 83 Handeland 96 Hauge 92 Hobbaasland 66 Hommestøl 76 Jokumsøen 87 Kleppe 69 Kvaale lille 74 Langebakholtet 74 Lian [ ] 103 Lien 60 Løslaatten 84 Meland ytre 74 Moen 80 Myran 66 Nerstøl ytre 58 Neset 101 Nøkland 98 Orte 102 Rossevatn 104 Rudlend 74 Rævegren 74 Ræveneset 74 Skeie nordre 75 Skjekkeland 91 Skoland 90 Skytel 65 Stakkelien 93 Storevolden 61 Straagesletten 68 Stulien 73 Tilhaugen 79 Tveiten 86 Urevatn 65 Vasland 93 Vatne ytre 71 Verdal vestre 69 Verdalsveien 102 Vestvasdalen 88 Vik vestre 60 Vik østre 95 Ødegaarden
The name of farms listed in Werdal's Gards-og Ættesoge For Eiken I in 2008 and Gards-og Ættesoge For Eiken 2 in 2010 and Gards-og Ættesoge For Eiken 3 in 2012 were as follows:
Austre Verdal, Austre Vik, Blåka ytre, Blåka øvre, Bryggesåk, Eftefjell, Eiken, Eiknes, Eikåsen, Gardøl, Gletne, Grostøl, Handeland, Hauge, Hobbesland, Håberg, Jokumsøya, Kleppe, Kvåle lille, Kvåle store, Lille Kvåle, Meland, Nerstøl ytre, Nerstøl øvre, Neset, Orte, Skeie, Skoland, Skytel, Store Kvåle, Stulien, Tilhaugen, Tveiten, Urevatn, Vasland, Vatne ytre, Vatne øvre, Verdal austre, Verdal vestre, Vester Vik, Vestre Verdal, Vik austre, Vik vestre, Ytre Blåka, Ytre Nerstøl, Ytre vatne, Ødegården, Øvre Blåka, Øvre Nerstøl, Øvre Vatne,
Lyngdal judical district
Werdal, Elfrid, et. al.. Gards- og Ættesoge For Eiken I. Farsund: Snartrykk, 2008.
Werdal, Elfrid, et. al.. Gards- og Ættesoge For Eiken 2. Farsund: Snartrykk, 2010.
Werdal, Elfrid, et. al.. Gards- og Ættesoge For Eiken 3. Farsund: Snartrykk, 2012.
- This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 15:06.
- This page has been accessed 1,855 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News