El Dorado County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to El Dorado County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|El Dorado County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address|| El Dorado County Courthouse|
; 360 Fair Ln;
Placerville, CA 95667;
El Dorado County Website
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death burial, land and military records Historical Facts
18 February 1850: El Dorado County was created ;as an original county. County seat: Placerville 
"Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
PLACERVILLE, CAL., FIRE.
Placerville, Cal., May 16. -- Fire which broke out in a barn in the center of town last night, destroyed the courthouse, and several business houses, entailing a loss of about $100,000.
The Ogden Standard Utah 1910-05-16
For tips on accessing El Dorado County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for El Dorado County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Johnson's Cutoff 1850-1851 (aka Placerville Route, Lake Tahoe Route and Day's Route) from Carson City, Nevada past the south end of Lake Tahoe going south and then west to Placerville, California and Sacramento
- Daggett Pass 1850 (aka Georgetown Pack Trail) Carson Valley, Nevada to Johnson's Cutoff near South Lake Tahoe, California
- Grizzly Flat Road 1852 an extension of Carson Trail down the middle fork of the Consumnes River to Grizzly Flat and Placerville, California
- Volcano Road 1852 from Coral Flat (Pioneer) on the Carson Trail to Volcano, California
- Luther Pass Trail 1854 connected the Carson Trail and Johnson's Cutoff and allowed travelers to avoid Lake Tahoe. It became one of the routes to the Comstock Lode in Nevada
Military History and Records
Regiments. Service men in El Dorado County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in El Dorado County, California:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company B
- - 4th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company F
- - 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- - 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company H
- - 7th Regiment, California Infantry (Union) , Company G
- - 8th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company K
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as El Dorado County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - El Dorado - Probate records.
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- El Dorado California Family History Center
- Pacerville, California
- South Lake Tahoe California Family History Center
- South Lake Tahoe, California
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder.
For marriages from 1850-1875
Western States Marriage Index.
- El Dorado County CAGenWeb
- El Dorado County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), El Dorado County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
- This page was last modified on 28 February 2014, at 03:17.
- This page has been accessed 7,062 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More