El Salvador GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Central America El Salvador
Guide to El Salvador ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Getting started with El Salvador research
Si usted entiende español
Le invitamos a buscar información en español en la página de El Salvador en el wiki de FamilySearch español. También le invitamos a compartir información útil allí. Véase el enlace en la parte inferior de la página.
El Salvador is divided into 14 departments (departamentos), which, in turn, are subdivided into 262 municipalities (municipios).
Department names and abbreviations for the 14 Salvadoran Departments:
8. MO - Morazán
Today's featured article is El Salvador Civil Registrations.
- Research Guide: BYU Research Outline for El Salvador
- Listing of all records collections for El Salvador available on FamilySearch.org
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Central America, Colonial Census Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- El Salvador Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- El Salvador Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- El Salvador Civil Registration (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- El Salvador Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Did you know?
In 1969 El Salvador fought with it's neighbor Honduras in what would become known as the Football War.
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 2 August 2015, at 00:33.
- This page has been accessed 40,159 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News