Elizabeth City County, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Elizabeth City County

Elizabeth City County, Virginia genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Elizabeth City County (established 1634) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Elizabeth City County, Virginia
Map
Map of Virginia highlighting Elizabeth City County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1634
County Seat
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Elizabeth City County, Virginia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1865 1853 1810 1634 1634

History

Parent County

1634--Elizabeth City County was created in 1634 as an original shire or county. Elizabeth City was absorbed by Hampton in July 1952. [1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

War.jpg
Elizabeth City records were destroyed during three wars: Revolutionary War, War of 1812, and the American Civil War. Only a few pre-Civil War deed books, wills, and order books survive.[2]

  • Confederate troops burned the courthouse during the Civil War.[3]
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Research Guides

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For Elizabeth City County, see pp. 56-57]

African American

  • Heinegg, Paul. "Elizabeth City County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Johnson, Martha C. Black Families of Elizabeth City Co., VA, 1800-1990: Research of Families of Callis, Davis, Simpson, Radcliff, Originating from Gloucester Co., Mathews Co., York and James Counties and Elizabeth Co., Hampton, Virginia. FHL Collection 1728886 Item 2.

Bible Records

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:

Additional Bible records include:

Cemeteries

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 3,450
1800 2,778 −19.5%
1810 3,608 29.9%
1820 3,789 5.0%
1830 5,053 33.4%
1840 3,706 −26.7%
1850 4,586 23.7%
1860 5,798 26.4%
1870 8,303 43.2%
1880 10,689 28.7%
1890 16,168 51.3%
1900 19,460 20.4%
1910 15,720 −19.2%
1920 19,111 21.6%
1930 19,835 3.8%
1940 32,283 62.8%
1950 55,028 70.5%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1890 Union Veterans' Census

Church

Baptist

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Hampton (1791)[4]

The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.

Elizabeth County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.

Church of England

Gotoarrow.png See also Elizabeth City Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Kecoughtan Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Lower Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Nutmeg Quarter Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Stanley Hundred Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Upper Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Waters Creek Parish

  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL. [Includes Elizabeth City County.]

Court

Chancery Court
  • Indexed images of Elizabeth City County, Virginia Chancery Records 1816-1933 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Genealogy

More than 200 genealogies have been published about Elizabeth City County families. To view a list, visit Elizabeth City County, Virginia Genealogy.

Immigration

Hampton has been a port since colonial times. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

Headright grants identify many Elizabeth City County, Virginia immigrants who arrived before 1720.[5] The Virginia Immigration article provides tips about using this source.

Additional resources include:

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of a resident of Hampton with the following surname: Riddlehurst.] Available at FHL.
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Hampton and Elizabeth City County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 3 British aliens, some of whom had families, living in Hampton and Elizabeth City County.[6]

Land

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Elizabeth City County, Virginia, and Other Genealogical & Historical Items, 1610-1800. Smithfield, Va., 1941. Original edition available at FHL; 1995 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes copy of index to Elizabeth City County land patents, 1624-1788.]
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Elizabeth City County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.]

Local Histories

Maps

Military

The National Military Home in Hampton serviced hundreds of veterans between the 1870s and 1930s. US Military Old Soldiers Home Records identifies several types records concerning these individuals.

Colonial Militia
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Elizabeth City County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Elizabeth City County militia officers; see place name index.]
French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Hampton and Elizabeth City County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Elizabeth City County, see p. 74.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Elizabeth City County militia officers; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War
  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Elizabeth City County, Virginia, and Other Genealogical & Historical Items, 1610-1800. Smithfield, Va., 1941. Original edition: FHL Collection; 1995 reprint: FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Conventions of 1775-1776, the Committee of Safety, 1775; public claims (list of persons who furnished supplies during Revolution); services listed in Virginia Soldiers of 1777 by Burgess; Historical Register of Virginians in the Revolution by John H. Gwathmey; The History of Virginia's Navy of the Revolution by Robert Armistead Stewart.]
War of 1812

Elizabeth City County men served in the 115th Regiment.[7]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Elizabeth City County, pp. 70-77.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Elizabeth City County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Elizabeth City County, Virginia:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate). Company A (Washington Artillery aka Hampton Artillery)
- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Old Dominion Dragoons).[8]

Newspapers

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Occupations

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Hampton silversmiths.]

Officials

  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Elizabeth City County, Virginia, and Other Genealogical & Historical Items, 1610-1800. Smithfield, Va., 1941. Original edition available at FHL; 1995 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes a partial list of civil officers of the county, 1631-1666; members of the House of Burgesses, 1619-1775; Conventions of 1775-1776; lists of attorneys and justices, 1660-1767; more lists of civil officers of the county, 1639-1784.]

Private Papers

  • [Riddlehurst] Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of a resident of Hampton with the following surname: Riddlehurst.] Available at FHL.

Probate

A free index to Elizabeth City County, Virginia wills and administrations (1689-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.


Local Court
  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Elizabeth City County, Virginia, and Other Genealogical & Historical Items, 1610-1800. Smithfield, Va., 1941. Original edition available at FHL; 1995 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. FHL. [Includes Elizabeth City County.]
London Courts
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Hampton and Elizabeth City County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Research Guides

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Elizabeth City County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1965):16-18. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
  • Mero, James H. Elizabeth City County, Virginia (Now City of Hampton), A Guide for Research in Elizabeth City County Records. Hampton, Virginia: Hugh S. Watson, Jr. Genealogical Society of Tidewater Virginia, 1984. FHL.

Taxation

 How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • [1704] "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). [Elizabeth County appears in 30:341-344.]
  • [1704, 1782] Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Elizabeth City County, Virginia, and Other Genealogical & Historical Items, 1610-1800. Smithfield, Va., 1941. Original edition available at FHL; 1995 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes 1704 Quit Rent Roll; 1782 List of Tithables.]
  • [1704] See also 1787.
  • [1758] "A Poll for the Election of Burgesses for the County of Elizabeth City When Col. John Tabb & Capt. William Wager Were Chosen, July 11, 1758," William and Mary College Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 26 (1917):107-108. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [1782] Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available at FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of Elizabeth City County.]
  • [1782-1820] Heinegg, Paul. "Elizabeth City County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • [1787] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Elizabeth City County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • [1787] Stewart, Robert Armistead. "First Tax List of the Commonwealth of Virginia: Property Tax List of Elizabeth City County, 1787 [and] Family Names Above Occurring in the Quit Rent Roll of Elizabeth City County, 1704," The Researcher: A Magazine of History and Genealogical Exchange, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Apr. 1927):177-179. Available at FHL.
  • [1790, 1798] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1798 Personal Property Tax Lists of Elizabeth City County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • [1800] "Elizabeth City County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):18-22. FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
  • [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Elizabeth City County is included in Vol. 3.]

Vital Records

Marriage
  • 1690s-1720 - Crozier, William Armstrong. Early Virginia Marriages. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1953. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Elizabeth City County marriages 1690s-1720.
  • 1719-1720 - "Elizabeth City County Records," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jan. 1893):157. Digital version at JSTOR - free. Marriage licenses 1719-1720.
Death

Elizabeth City County, Virginia deaths are included in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society, available online - free.

Vital Record Substitutes

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.

Voting

  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Elizabeth City County, Virginia, and Other Genealogical & Historical Items, 1610-1800. Smithfield, Va., 1941. Original edition available at FHL; 1995 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes polls for elections, 1758, 1765.]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  3. "Hampton Courthouse Marker", The Historical Marker Database, http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=33853, accessed 18 February 2011.
  4. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital version at Google Books.
  5. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Cavaliers and Pioneers," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1980):221. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 24 (1980)
  6. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  7. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 76. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  8. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2014, at 16:08.
  • This page has been accessed 24,809 times.