Elmton with Cresswell, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Elmton with Cresswell, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elmton with Cresswell, Derbyshire
Elmton St Peter Derbyshire.jpg
Elmton St Peter Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Worksop PLU
Registration District Worksop
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Staveley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELMTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Worksop, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 9 miles (E. by N.) from Chesterfield with the township of Creswell. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District

Church records

Elmton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Elmton St Peter (1598) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1598-1912
  NONE
1598-1912
  NONE
1599-1912
  NONE

Cresswell is a hamlet in Elmton and a Chapel of Ease (1899)- Marriage records and Burials start 1900.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1462 has deposited registers Bap 1598-1904 Mar 1598-1723,1737-1987 Burials 1598-1917 Banns 1860-1997

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1868 Mar 1673-1876 Burials 1673-1868

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.


See Derbyshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Worksop Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Elmton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 164-167.Date accessed: 15 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,214 times.