Elsau parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Elsau parish

Guide to Elsau parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Elsau

Blumenau
Dollhausen
Einfang
Elsau
Frohberg
Fulau
Halde
Heidenloch
Krähbühl

Nägelibaum
Neugut
Ober-Elsau
Ober-Schnasberg
Ober-Schottikon
Pestalozzihaus
Räterschen
Rümikon

Schaffenberg
Schluck
Schottikon
Sommerhalde
Sonnenberg
Tobel
Unter-Schnasberg
Unter-Schottikon

Surrounding Parishes

Elgg
Oberwinterthur
Schlatt
Wiesendangen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Elsau:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 33
1637 1185142 1 31
1640 1185143 2 693
1643 1185146 1 643
1646 1185148 1 263
1649 1185149 1 753
1670 1185154 1 517
1678 1185157 1 1063
1683 1185160 3 173
1688 1185162 1 715
1694 1185166 2 293
1699 1185166 2 301
1702 1185166 2 309
1709 1185170 1 463
1721 1185175 1 149
1739 1185175 1 175
1750 1185175 1 199

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Elsau families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Elsau prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 23:44.
  • This page has been accessed 390 times.