Elsted with Treyford and Didling, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
ELSTEAD, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Dumpford, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from Midhurst.
Elsted St Paul is an Ancient parish in the civil parish of Elsted with Treyford in the Chichester district of West Sussex. The parish includes Treyford and Didling
The Parish Church of St Paul Elsted has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
The ruined church of St Mary Trelford has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Treyford St Peter Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) built 1849 demolished 1951
See also Elsted and Treyford Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Elsted parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ELSTED PARISH Online Records|
|IGI||1571-1849, 1875-1886||1575-1697, 1709-1849, 1874-1875|
Treyford cum Didling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Treyford cum Didling Parish Online Records|
|PRTS||1573-1615, 1622-1640, 1663-1910||
||1573-1615, 1622-1640, 1663-1910|| |
Treyford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Treyford Parish Online Records|
Didling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Didling Parish Online Records|
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Elsted with Treyford and Didling
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 164-167. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
- ↑ Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:55.
- This page has been accessed 1,103 times.
We want your opinion!
Give feedback on two US state pages by clicking on the purple button belowClick Here