Ely College, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ely College, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Ely College, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ely College, Cambridgeshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ely
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Ely PLU
Registration District Ely
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690; For more records see Ely St Mary
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELY, a city, and the head of a union, in the Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 16 miles (N. N. E.) from Cambridge, and 67 (N. by E.) from London. At the dissolution of the monastery, which was dedicated to St. Peter and St. Ethelreda, Henry VIII. altered the ecclesiastical establishment of the See, and by charter converted the conventual into a cathedral church, which was dedicated to the Holy Trinity. The Cathedral, begun in 1081, and not completed till 1534, is a splendid cruciform structure. The city, exclusively of the extra-parochial liberty of the College, comprises the parish of St. Mary, which, with the chapelry of Chettisham,and the parish of Holy Trinity, which, with the chapelry of Stuntney. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ely College is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

Bishop's transcripts for Ely College Church, Ely, 1813-1858 at FHL

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241231.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ely College (Extra-Parochial) on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 167-173. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 01:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,299 times.